Summer Olympic Mascots

Summer Olympic Mascots from 1972 to now

1976, 1980, 1984, 1988, 1992, 1996, 2000, 2004, 2008, 2012, 2016, 2020, 2024.

Munich 1972 (Germany), Waldi the dachshund

1st official mascot of the history of the games, Waldi was created according to a dachshund, very popular puppy in Germany. 3 of the colors of the Olympic flag are represented on the body of the mascot.

Montreal 1976 (Canada), Amik the beaver

Amik, which means beaver in Algonquin language, was selected to represent the mascot of the Games of Montreal. The beaver, as an animal, is known for its patience and its hard work.

Moscow 1980 (USSR), Misha the bear

Created by Victor CHIZHIKOV, the mascot of Moscou was chosen with the help of a large public throught russian medias. Its complet name is Mikhail Potapych Toptygin Chizokov.

Los Angeles 1984 (USA), Sam the eagle

Walt Disney Productions have created a mascot representing the symbol of America, the eagle, with a hat colored like the American flag.

Seoul 1988 (Korea), Hodori the tiger

The tiger, symbol of many Korean legends, where it is shown like a strong and sympathetic animal, was selected at the end of a public dialogue. Hosuni, his female partner, is less knowed.

Barcelona 1992 (Spain), Cobi the dog

The mascot represent a stylized dog, drawn by Javier Mariscal, a local artist.

Atlanta 1996 (USA), Whatizit become Izzy later

Izzy, resulting from “Whatizit?” (what it is?) moved with the time, and ended up acquiring a mouth and a nose.

Sydney 2000 (Australia), Syd the duck-billed platypus, Olly the kookaburra and Millie the echidna

Representing native Australian animals, the kookaburra (Olly), the platypus (Syd) and the echidna (Millie) are associated with the air, water and the earth.

Athens 2004 (Greece), Phevos and Athena

Their design was inspired by dolls of ancient Greece, and their name, resulting from the gods of Greek mythology, means Phoebus (Apollo), god of the light and the music and Athena, goddess of the wisdom and protective of the town of Athens.

Beijing 2008 (China), Beibei the fish, Jingjing the panda, Huanhuan the olympic flame, Yingying the Tibetan antelope and Nini the swallow

Fuwa (friendlies) represent the colors of the Olympic rings and symbolize the 5 elements, the sea, the forest, the fire, the earth and the sky. 4 are identified with a popular animal in China: Beibei the fish, Jingjing the panda, Yingying the Tibetan antelope and Nini the swallow, 5th, Huanhuan, is the Olympic flame.

London 2012 (United Kingdom), Wenlock

Made from one of the last two drops of steel used for the Olympic Stadium (the second was used for the paralympic mascot). Its name comes from the town of Much Wenlock, where the ‘Olympian Games’ that inspired Baron Pierre de Coubertin, founder of the modern Olympic Games, still take place. The mascot has one eye (as a camera lens) and a yellow light on the head inspired by the London Taxis. It takes its name from the town of Much Wenlock located in the county of Shropshire. Baron Pierre de Coubertin was invited there in 1890 to attend the annual Much Wenlock Games, a festival created in 1850 and a precursor to the Olympic Games.

Rio 2016 (Brazil), Vinicius

This mascot represents a mixt of different animals in the Brazilian fauna, the diversity of culture and the Brazilian people and its lush nature. Its design was entrusted to Brazilian professionals, from illustration and animation after a tender, but the name was chosen by public vote.

Tokyo 2020 (Japan), Miraitowa

Elected by schoolchildren following a competition, this mascot colored in Indigo Blue (Ai Ichimatsu) found in the emblem of the Games – symbolizes both the tradition and the modernity of Japanese culture. Its name is based on the Japanese words “mirai”, meaning “future”, and “towa”, meaning “eternity”.

Paris 2024 (France), Phryge

The Phryge is a character inspired by the Phrygian cap, which represents a great symbol of freedom, inclusiveness and the world’s ability to support great causes. It features blue, white and red as well as the gold Paris 2024 logo on its chest. Its eyes were designed to be both mischievous and expressive, and form a cockade so that the Phrygian cap is immediately identifiable.

List of my wanted mascots