Winter Olympic Games Participant Medals from 1928 to now

Participant medals have existed since the renewal of the modern Olympic Games in 1896. As for the Olympic Winter Games, they appeared as early as Chamonix 1924. This is the only edition of the Games where the design of this medal is identical to that of the winner’s medal. They are given to all athletes participating in the Olympic Games as well as to officials. Sometimes volunteers and members of the media can benefit.

St Moritz 1928 (Switzerland)

Garmisch-Partenkirchen 1936 (Germany)

St Moritz 1948 (Switzerland)

Oslo 1952 (Norway)

Cortina d’Ampezzo 1956 (Italy)

Squaw Valley 1960 (USA)

Innsbruck 1964 (Austria)

Grenoble 1968 (France)

Sapporo 1972 (Japan)

Innsbruck 1976 (Austria)

Lake Placid 1980 (USA)

Sarajevo 1984 (Yugoslavia)

Calgary 1988 (Canada)

Albertville 1992 (France)

Lillehammer 1994 (Norway)

Nagano 1998 (Japan)

Salt Lake City 2002 (USA)

Torino 2006 (Italy)

Vancouver 2010 (Canada)

Sochi 2014 (Russia)